Multiple Perspectives on Security

Security Journal

Subscribe to Security Journal: eMailAlertsEmail Alerts newslettersWeekly Newsletters
Get Security Journal: homepageHomepage mobileMobile rssRSS facebookFacebook twitterTwitter linkedinLinkedIn

Security Journal Authors: Pat Romanski, Elizabeth White, Zakia Bouachraoui, Yeshim Deniz, Peter Silva

Related Topics: PC Security Journal, Security Journal

News Feed Item

Symantec Gateway Security 5000 Series v3.0 Earns Common Criteria EAL4+ Certification

Customers With Government Validation Offered Best-of-Breed Firewall Technology to Protect Corporate Networks

CUPERTINO, CA -- (MARKET WIRE) -- 05/24/06 -- Symantec Corp. (NASDAQ: SYMC), today announced that Symantec Gateway Security 5000 Series v3.0 has been awarded Common Criteria Evaluation Assurance Level 4 Augmented with ALC_FLR.1 (EAL4+) certification. This prestigious certification assures customers that Symantec Gateway Security 5000 Series v3.0's firewall engine has gone through a rigorous analysis and testing process and conforms to standards sanctioned by the International Standards Organization. Common Criteria is an important worldwide evaluation standard for security products as its certifications are recognized in 22 countries around the world.

Symantec Gateway Security 5000 Series v3.0 provides seven essential security functions for maximum effectiveness, while reducing the complexity of security management. The appliances provide tightly integrated anti-spam, antivirus, clientless SSL and IPSec VPN, full-inspection firewall, intrusion prevention, intrusion detection, and URL-based content filtering with dynamic document review technologies to provide zero-day protection for the network perimeter.

Symantec will be formally awarded the EAL4+ certificate for Symantec Gateway Security 5000 Series v3.0's firewall engine at the 7th International Common Criteria Conference on Sept. 19, 2006 in Lanzarote, Spain. Symantec's recent accomplishment provides customers with government validation that they are receiving best-of-breed firewall technology to protect their corporate networks. For more information about Symantec's Common Criteria certifications, visit:

"This certification validates the ability of Symantec Gateway Security 5000 Series v3.0 to protect medium enterprises with one of the most secure, high-performance offerings available for securing corporate networks," said Greg Gotta, vice president, product delivery, Symantec Corp. "Recognizing that the Federal government is a leading proponent of Common Criteria certification, Symantec is well positioned to continue providing customers in the Department of Defense and civilian federal agencies with gateway protection technology that meets stringent EAL4+ certification."

"The Certification Body is pleased to announce that Symantec Gateway Security 5000 Series v3.0's firewall engine has achieved certification at the EAL4 level with ALC_FLR.1 against Common Criteria (ISO15408)," said Nigel Jones, senior executive, UK IT Security Evaluation and Certification Scheme. "This certification highlights Symantec's commitment to standards that offer their customers a high level of firewall in today's market."

About Common Criteria

The Common Criteria for Information Technology Security Evaluation (CCITSE) is a set of evaluation criteria agreed to by the United States' National Security Agency/National Institute of Standards and Technologies and equivalent bodies in 21 other countries. It was designed to resolve the technical and conceptual differences among existing standards for the evaluation of security systems and products. Certification to the Common Criteria requires in-depth analysis of product design and development methodology, backed by extensive testing. Common Criteria is currently recognized by the following countries: United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Austria, The Czech Republic, France, Germany, Finland, Greece, Hungary, India, Israel, Italy, Japan, The Netherlands, Norway, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, and the United Kingdom.

The Common Criteria represents the outcome of efforts to develop criteria for evaluation of IT security that are widely accepted within the international community. Further information is available at and

About Symantec

Symantec is the world leader in providing solutions to help individuals and enterprises assure the security, availability, and integrity of their information. Headquartered in Cupertino, Calif., Symantec has operations in more than 40 countries. More information is available at

NOTE TO EDITORS: If you would like additional information on Symantec Corporation and its products, please visit the Symantec News Room at All prices noted are in US dollars and are valid only in the United States.

Symantec and the Symantec Logo are trademarks or registered trademarks of Symantec Corporation or its affiliates in the U.S. and other countries. Other names may be trademarks of their respective owners.


Brian Modena
Symantec Corporation
(310) 449-4897
[email protected]

Sherri Walkenhorst
Connect Public Relations
(801) 373-7888
[email protected]

More Stories By Marketwired .

Copyright © 2009 Marketwired. All rights reserved. All the news releases provided by Marketwired are copyrighted. Any forms of copying other than an individual user's personal reference without express written permission is prohibited. Further distribution of these materials is strictly forbidden, including but not limited to, posting, emailing, faxing, archiving in a public database, redistributing via a computer network or in a printed form.